DSU News
Track and Field - Sat, May. 14, 2011
News Photo
The men of Hawk track and field celebrate their 8th consecutive conference title!

Spearfish, S.D. - The Dickinson State men's and women's track and field teams had a banner day at yesterday's Dakota Athletic Conference Track and Field Championships hosted by Black Hills State University. The Hawk men defeated their nearest competitor, Jamestown College, by 131 points to win their eighth consecutive conference crown. DSU's women earned bronze honors as a team, finishing 53 points ahead of Minot State.

DSU's men were led by outstanding performances from a number of athletes, most notably: John Paul Williams (Fr., Daly City, Calif.), Cordero Bonamy (Sr., Nassau, Bahamas), and Kurt McCormack (Sr., Souris, PEI). Williams was crowned Outstanding Performer of the Meet for racking up five top 5 finishes in championship action. Williams won the pole vault with a clearance of 4.85m. He was second in the decathlon with 6,141 points and runner-up in the 110m high hurdles as well (14.92). Williams placed fourth win the long jump with a bound of 6.71 meters and was fifth in the 400 intermediate hurdles with a time of 57.14 seconds.

Bonamy earned outstanding Track Athlete of the Meet honors as he won the 100 meter dash (10.53), 200 meter dash (21.60), and was a part of the conference runner-up 4x400 meter relay team (3:21.29).

McCormack was named Outstanding Field Athlete of the Meet for his pair of wins in the horizontal jumps. He leaped to wins in the triple (14.60m) and long jumps (7.32m).

Head Coach, Pete Stanton was named DAC Co-Coach of the Year along with Ed Crawford of Jamestown College.

Other headlining performances for the men's team came from Ismael Arzola (Sr., Bakersfield, Calif.), Jermaine Christie (Sr., Trewlany, Jamaica), Tyler Lalim (Fr., Tioga, N.D.), and the 4x100 and 4x800 meter relay teams.

Arzola won the 1500 meter run in a time of 4:01.06. He was runner-up in the 800 meters with a time of 1:56.36 as well. Arzola also ran on the 1600 meter relay team that finished second.

Christie won the 100 meter high hurdles in a time of 14.48 seconds. He was also runner-up in the long jump with a leap of 6.88m and took third in the 100 meter dash in 10.73.

Lalim won the javelin throw with a heave of 58.20m.

The 4x100 meter team ran 42.59 seconds for the win.

The Hawks 4x800 meter relay consisting of Edwin Chelashaw (Jr., Eldoret, Kenya), Chris Gill (Jr., Newhall, Calif.), Paul Bailey (Jr., Lapalma, Calif.) , and Dustin Sandbak (Fr., Billings, Mont.) also cruised to a victory, doing so in a time of 8:27.29.

Michael Sands (Sr., Nassau, Bahamas), Brady Sundheim (Fr., Sidney, Mont.), and Magstadt were also significant contributors to team points. Sands was runner-up in both the 100m (10.58) and 200m (21.62) dashes.

Sundheim placed second in the triple jump (14.31m) and was third in the high jump (1.91m).

In addition to his leg on the second place 1600 meter relay, Magstadt was runner-up in the 400 meter intermediate hurdles (55.89), third in the 110m high hurdles (14.98), and fifth in the 400 meter dash (50.98).

The women's field eventers guided the way for DSU's third place finish, as Kim Schulz (So., Sidney, Mont.) won the javelin with a toss of 40.54m and Hailey Schaper (Fr., Killdeer, Mont.) claimed the top spot in the high jump with a leap of 1.70m.

Jennifer Hartmann (Jr., Miles City, Mont.), Tina Marie Soto (Sr., Upland, Calif.), and Melissa Bachamp (Fr., Dickinson, N.D.) lead a Hawk trio that placed runner-up in their respective events. Hartmann jumped 5.56m in the long jump. Soto finished 1.5 seconds off the winner in the 10,000 meter run with a time of 41:26.01. Bachamp cleared a high bar of 2.95m in the pole vault.

Vanessa Esquivel (Jr., Ontario, Calif.), Mandi Spoklie (Fr., Plentywood, Mont.), and the 4x100 meter relay team were bronze medalists. Esquivel rolled to a 2:23.75 in the 800 meter run. Spoklie threw 36.47m in the javelin throw.

The Hawks 400 meter relay of Franzi Schmid (Jr., Kircheim, Germany), Shelby Snare (So., Peerless, Mont.), DayLynn Batey (So., Livingston, Mont.), and Chelsey Schwindt (Fr., Cut Bank, Mont.) sped their way to a finish time of 50.79 seconds.

Qualifiers from the Hawks men's and women's track and field teams will compete next in the NAIA Outdoor National Track and Field Championships. The event will run from Thursday, May 26th through Saturday, May 28th in Marion, Indiana.