General News

22 Blue Hawks named to 2016 NSAA Fall Sports Scholar-Athletes list

22 Blue Hawks named to 2016 NSAA Fall Sports Scholar-Athletes list

MADISON, S.D. – The North Star Athletic Association (NSAA) is pleased to announced its Academic Scholar-Athletes for the 2016 fall academic season Thursday, with a total of 370 student-athletes receiving recognition.

The 370 recipients, participating in football, volleyball, men's and women's soccer and men's and women's cross country were recognized for their outstanding achievements in the classroom and on the playing field.

To be eligible for selection to the Academic NSAA Scholar-Athlete, a student-athlete must achieved a cumulative grade point average (GPA) of 3.25 on a 4.0 scale.

Dickinson State University

Football: Kaler Ray, Seth Ewoniuk, Seth Moerkerke, Devin Schwanz, Thomas Sease, Dylan Skabo, Derick VandeBossche, Matt VandeBossche, Colby Wartman, Brady Wilz and Kirby Cagle.

Volleyball: Shelby Gustafson, Ali Joslyn, Aimee Molina, Magdalyn Rauser and Shaylee Singleton.

Men's Cross Country: Ernest Franssen.

Women's Cross Country: Jade Sheffield, Lisa Townsend, Amanda Wolff, Cristina Herrera and Brittney Grove.

Jamestown (N.D.) led the way with 70 total scholar-athletes, followed by Presentation (S.D.) with 61 scholar-athletes.  Viterbo (Wis.) registered 57 scholar-athletes this past fall, while Waldorf (Iowa) recorded 47 scholar-athletes.  Valley City State (N.D.) had 39 scholar-athletes, followed by Dakota State (S.D.) with 32 scholar-athletes, Bellevue (Neb.) with 27 student-athletes, Dickinson State (N.D.) with 22 scholar-athletes and Mayville State (N.D.) 15 scholar-athletes.

For a complete list of the fall 2016 Academic North Star Scholar-Athletes, please see below.  The list is in alphabetical order by the NSAA conference schools (by each page) with their fall sports:


Nick Huntimer, North Star Athletic Association Sports Information Director