Four Blue Hawks Earn First Team All-Conference

Four Blue Hawks Earn First Team All-Conference

MADISON, S.D. – The North Star Athletic Association released its Football All-Conference teams on Wednesday (Nov. 19).  Four Blue Hawks were selected for the first team, while six additional Blue Hawks were named to the second team.

Jesse Carney earned first team honors as a running back.  Carney rushed for 1,049 yards and 10 touchdowns on 148 attempts.  He averaged 7.1 yards per carry and 95.4 yards per game.

Alex Huitzil was selected to the first team as a linebacker.  Huitzil recorded 40 solo tackles and 61 tackle assists for 101 total tackles.  He had two interceptions and six tackles for a loss.

Rob Sterling earned first team honors as a defensive back.  Sterling recorded 25 solo tackles and 19 tackle assists for a total of 44 tackles.  He also intercepted four passes, forced two fumbles, and recovered one.

Josh Borm was selected as the NSAA first team punter.  Borm unleased 55 punts during the season for 2,022 yards for an average of 36.8 yards.  Borm's longest punt of the season went for 75 yards.

Myren Moore was selected to the second team as a running back.  Moore carried the ball 153 times for 902 yards and nine touchdowns.  He averaged 5.9 yards per carry and 82 yards per game.

Offensive linemen Meyer Bohn, Jacob Elmore, and Adrian Phillips earned second team All-Conference honors.

Michael Hernandez was selected to the second team as a defensive lineman.  Hernandez recorded 19 solo tackles and 54 tackle assists for 73 total tackles.  He recorded 1.5 sacks for a loss of 12 yards. 

Awa Poggi earned a second team selection as a defensive back.  Poggi recorded 31 solo tackles and 30 tackle assists for 61 total tackles.  He recovered one fumble for 45 yards.  Poggi notched four interceptions for a total of 148 yards. 

To view the release from the NSAA click, here.