Blue Hawks Clinch 2015 NSAA Regular Season Championship with 40-2 Win over the Comets

Blue Hawks Clinch 2015 NSAA Regular Season Championship with 40-2 Win over the Comets

DICKINSON, ND- The Dickinson State University Blue Hawk Football team clinched the 2015 NSAA regular season championship with a dominating win over the Mayville State University Comets on Saturday at the Henry Biesiot Activities Center.

Dickinson State got on the board first in the first quarter with a five yard quarterback keeper by Robert Sterling giving the Blue Hawks a 7-0 lead over the Comets. Tray Boone later scored on a three yard rushing touchdown putting the Blue Hawks up 14-0 after the first quarter.

The lone scoring in the second quarter came when Mayville State blocked Seth Moerkerke's punt which rolled out the back of the endzone for a safety, putting the Comets on the board but still trailing the Blue Hawks 14-2 heading into the locker room for half time.

The Blue Hawks were the only team to score in the third quarter when Kaler Ray tossed a pass to the endzone which was tipped by Dalton Reid but fell into the hands of Josh Perry-Kruse for the touchdown and putting the Blue Hawks up 21-2.

The fourth quarter was all Blue Hawks and it started when Ray connected with Perry-Kruse again for a 25 yard touchdown pass putting the Blue Hawks up 28-2. The Dickinson State defense played very well against the Comets offense including back to back interceptions for touchdowns by Cain Boschee for 65 yards and Robert Nalewaja for 15 yards.

Dickinson State tallied 18 first downs, 232 yards on the ground and 119 yards in the air for a total of 351 yards.

Mayville State tallied 15 first downs but were held to 132 yards rushing and 76 yards passing for a total of 208 yards.

Dickinson State will now travel to Fargo, ND to play in the North Star Bowl on Sunday, November 8th. Their opponent and game time will be announced early this week.

Congratulations to the Blue Hawks on their 2015 NSAA Football Championship!