2016 NAIA Men’s Cross Country National Championships Field Revealed

2016 NAIA Men’s Cross Country National Championships Field Revealed

The 61st Annual Men's XC Championship Qualifiers

Web Link: http://www.naia.org/ViewArticle.dbml?DB_OEM_ID=27900&ATCLID=211280889

November 07, 2016

By Spencer Scheve, Communications and Sports Information Intern

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The 36 team, 86 individual field has been announced for the 61st Annual NAIA Men's Cross Country National Championships that will be held on Nov. 19. The event will take place at North Farms Cross Country Course in Elsah Mo. The men's 8–kilometer race will began at 11:30 a.m. CST. 

The Dickinson State University Men's Cross Country team won the NSAA for the second year in a row and earned an automatic bid to the National Championships.

Members of the DSU Men's CC team who will be competing in the National Championships are 

  1. Christopher Moreno
  2. Tristen Guillot
  3. Ernest Franssen III
  4. Jonathan Aman
  5. Daniel Aguirre
  6. Trey Smollack
  7. Richard Timmermans

• This is the first time in NAIA Cross Country Championships history that the race will be held in Elsah, Ill. 
• The field is made up by 24 automatic qualifiers (AQ), 11 at-large berths and one host berth. A team received an automatic bid by winning the conference meet or was the tournament runner-up. 
• Four conferences received two automatic berths: American Midwest Conference, Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference, Heart of America Athletic Conference and the Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference. In addition to the meet champion, the meet runner-up also received an automatic berth. The AMC received a host berth. The 11 at-large berths are determined by the final regular-season Top 25 Poll that can be seen by clicking here
• The 11 at-large berths are determined by the final regular-season Top 25 Poll that can be seen by clicking here. These teams received an at-large berth – College of Idaho, Westmont (Calif.), Biola (Calif.) Oklahoma City, Taylor (Ind.) Oregon Tech, Bethel (Ind.), Eastern Oregon, Siena Heights (Mich.) Cornerstone (Mich.) and Aquinas (Mich.).
• Aquinas is the only at-large team to not be ranked in the latest Top 25 Poll.
• In addition to the team qualifiers and at-large bids, 86 athletes will compete as individual qualifiers. 

• Oklahoma City, which has won the past three national championships, received the No. 4 at-large berth this season.
• For the second-straight year, a post-race highlight show will be free to all fans through the NAIA Network. The event takes place on Nov. 19 in Elsah, Ill., at North Farms Cross Country Course. Fans will be able to view the show no later than 1 CST on Sunday, Nov. 20.
• For more information about the conference championships, click here. 
• For all other information regarding the Men's Cross Country National Championships, click here

2016 NAIA Men's Cross Country National Championships - Teams

Aquinas (Mich.)

At-Large No. 11

Bacone (Okla.)

Sooner Athletic Conference Champion

Bethel (Ind.)

At-Large No. 7

Bethel (Tenn.)

Southern States Athletic Conference Champion (Tie)

Biola (Calif.)

At-Large No. 3

British Columbia

Association of Independent Institutions Champion

College of Idaho

At-Large No. 1

Columbia (Mo.)

American Midwest Conference Champion

Cornerstone (Mich.)

At-Large No. 10

Dickinson State (N.D.)

North Star Athletic Association Champion

Eastern Oregon

At-Large No. 8

Embry-Riddle (Ariz.)

California Pacific Conference Champion

Indiana Tech

Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Conference

Kansas Wesleyan

Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference Runner-Up

Lewis-Clark State (Idaho)

Frontier Conference Champion

Marian (Ind.)

Crossroads League Champion

MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.)

Heart of America Athletic Conference Runner-Up

Milligan (Tenn.)

Appalachian Athletic Conference Champion

Missouri Valley

Heart of America Athletic Conference Champion

Northwestern (Iowa)

Great Plains Athletic Conference Champion

Oklahoma City

At-Large No. 4

Olivet Nazarene (Ill.)

Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference Runner-up

Oregon Tech

At-Large No. 6

Our Lady of the Lake (Texas)

Red River Athletic Conference Champion

Rio Grande (Ohio)

River States Athletic Conference Champion

SCAD Savannah (Ga.)

The Sun Conference Champion

Shawnee State (Ohio)

Mid-South Conference Champion

Siena Heights (Mich.)

At-Large No. 5

Southern Oregon

Cascade Collegiate Conference Champion

St. Francis (Ill.)

Chicagoland Collegiate Athletic Conference Champion

St. Mary (Kan.)

Kansas Collegiate Athletic Conference Champion

Taylor (Ind.)

At-Large No. 5

The Master's Calif.)

Golden State Athletic Conference  Champion

Westmont (Calif.)

At-large No. 2

William Carey (Miss.)

Southern State Athletic Conference Champion (Tie)

William Woods (Mo.)

American Midwest Conference Host Berth

Xavier (La.)

Gulf Coast Athletic Conference  Champion



2016 NAIA Men's Cross Country National Championships - Individuals 

American Midwest

Christian Skinner

Park (Mo.)


Tyler Alverson

Freed-Hardeman (Mo.)


Paco Rosales

Lindenwood (Ill.)


Ryan Zitter

Park (Mo.)


Steven Juarez

Johnson & Wales (Colo.)


Timothy Huber

Indiana - Northwest


Joe Capuchino

Central Christian (Kan.)


Alberto Rodriguez

Johnson & Wales (Colo.)


Tyler Boone

Bryan (Tenn.)


Brien Lancaster

Montreat (N.C.)


Tyler Barber

Truett-McConnell (Ga.)


Jackson Helfrich

Reinhardt (Ga.)

California Pacific

Anass Zouhry

Antelope Valley (Calif.)


Jack Evans

Soka (Calif.)


Chafik Oussemgane

Antelope Valley (Calif.)


Guillermo Rivas

California Merced


Garrett Kraal

Northwest Christian (Ore.)


TJ Wright

Northwest Christian (Ore.)


Daniel Garcia

Cardinal Stritch (Wis.)


Jonathan Kimutai

Cardinal Stritch (Wis.)


Abel Hernandez

St. Xavier (Ill.)


Salavador Cordova

Purdue Northwest (Ind.)


Cody Velthuizen

Trinity Christian (Ill.)


Jordy Arriaga

Judson (Ill.)


Ryan Smith

Goshen (Ind.)


Daniel Garza

Spring Arbor (Mich)


Steven Cranston

Goshen (Ind.)


Ben Rankin

Grace (Ind.)


Chance Hyatt

Carroll (Mont.)


Benson Koech

Rocky Mountain (Mont.)


Baird Linke

Carroll (Mont.)


Layne Ryerson

Carroll (Mont.)

Golden State

Zach Deatley

Vanguard (Calif.)


Zach Hunt

Vanguard (Calif.)


Jeronimo Brito

Vanguard (Calif.)

Great Plains

Caleb Drake

Dordt (Iowa)


Danney Aldaba

Midland (Neb.)


Alec DeVries

Morningside (Iowa)


Jeremiah Panec

Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.)

Heart of America

Jamal Boma

William Penn (Iowa)


Joseph Linder

Baker (Kan.)


Devon Colegrove

Evangel (Mo.)


Joseph Barnes

Benedictine (Kan.)


Colton Forster

Mount Mercy (Iowa)


Greg Flores

Baker (Kan.)

Kansas Collegiate

Jersey Boydstun

Southwestern (Kan.)


Jonathan Dominguez

McPherson (Kan.)


Julio Martinez

Bethel (Kan.)


Michael Janzer

McPherson (Kan.)


Kris Mathur

Friends (Kan,)


Lucas Garrett

Sterling (Kan.)


Adam Sandidge

Campbellsville (Ky.)


Sam Beal

Cumberlands (Ky.)


Bret Crawford

Campbellsville (Ky.)


Ben Call

Cumberlands (Ky.)

North Star

Matthew Young

Jamestown (N.D.)


Nic Ganzeveld

Waldorf (Iowa)


Marquis Cox

Waldorf (Iowa)


Nathan Meiners

Waldorf (Iowa)

Red River

Laben Kandie

Wiley (Texas)


Marbeq Edgar

Wiley (Texas)


Leonard Kiprono

Wiley (Texas)


Gilbert Ramirez

Southwest (N.M.)

River States

Douglas Negrete

West Virginia Tech


Salavador Campos

Indiana East


Caleb Woodard

Asbury (Ky.)


Blake Brooks

Indiana East


Eric Villagrana

Wayland Baptist (Texas)


Raul Almaraz

Wayland Baptist (Texas)


Josh Uzelac

John Brown (Ark.)


Gerardo Nava

Southwestern Assemblies (Texas)

Southern States

Ryan Gebelein

Dalton State (Ga.)


Anthony Rizzi

Loyola (La.)


David Murillo

Dalton State (Ga.)


Leith Rawson

Mobile (Ala.)

The Sun

Trae Miller

Southeastern (Fla.)


Gabriel Hogan

Ave Maria (Fla.)


Nic O'Neill

USC - Beaufort (S.C.)


Sean Trainor

Webber State


Tony Floyd

Madonna (Mich.)


Kory Johnson

Madonna (Mich.)