Blue Hawks sweep post-season awards

Blue Hawks sweep post-season awards

MADISON, S.D. -- The 2014 NAIA Softball Unaffiliated North Star/Frontier Conference has announced its All-Conference teams and postseason awards Tuesday. The All-Conference teams and postseason awards were voted by the league coaches. This year's North Star/Frontier All-Conference Team consists of 18-member on the first-team and 11-member on the second team. 

Dickinson State (N.D.) swept all three postseason awards.  Alex Vargas was selected to NAIA Softball Unaffiliated NSAA/Frontier Player-of-the-Year, while her teammate Regan Lawrencewas chosen as its Pitcher-of-the-Year award. Kristen Fleury was voted as Coach-of-the-Year honor.

Vargas hit .461 on the season, with six HR, 57 RBI, and a slugging percentage of .685.

Lawrence finished the season with a 21-4 record, a 1.76 ERA, five shutouts, and 167 strikeouts.

Fleury guided the Blue Hawks to a 39-13 record and a bid into the NAIA National Tournament. 

The Opening Round pairings will be announced tonight on For this season's full statistics, click here.

Below are the complete listings of all All-Conference teams and postseason awards:

2014 NAIA Softball Unaffiliated North Star/Frontier All-Conference First Team  

1B Lindsay Sullivan Senior Dickinson State (N.D.)

2B Monique Yslas Sophomore Dickinson State (N.D.)

3B Rebecca Lopez Sophomore Dickinson State (N.D.)

SS Alex Vargas Sophomore Dickinson State (N.D.)

Brianna Grayson Freshman Dickinson State (N.D.)

UTIL Janell LaRont Junior Dickinson State (N.D.)

DP Cejay Hilhorst Sophomore Valley City State (N.D.)

OF Justeena Gutierrez Sophomore Dickinson State (N.D.)

OF Courtney Van den Bussche Senior Jamestown (N.D.)

OF Samantha Swimley Senior Mayville State (N.D.)

OF Lexy Miller Junior Dakota State (S.D.)

Regan Lawrence Junior Dickinson State (N.D.)

P Emily Snow Senior Jamestown (N.D.)

At-Large Brittany Lehner Senior Valley City State (N.D.)

At-Large Samantha Mitchell Freshman Dakota State (S.D.)

At-Large Brittany Hill Junior Dakota State (S.D.)

At-Large Brenda Botzenhart Junior Presentation (S.D.)

At-Large Savannah McMillin Junior Valley City State (N.D.)


2014 NAIA Softball Unaffiliated North Star/Frontier All-Conference Second Team

 Katie Cameron Sophomore Valley City State (N.D.)

Liz Hall-Sewell Senior Valley City State (N.D.)

Elizabeth Rubalcava Sophomore Dakota State (S.D.)

Hattie Fullmer Senior Jamestown (N.D.)

Rachel Hughes Freshman Dakota State (S.D.)

Hailey Haukeli Junior Presentation (S.D.)

Sydney Larson Freshman Presentation (S.D.)

Kiratie Thomas Junior Great Falls (Mont.)

Kassidy Rauch Junior Presentation (S.D.)

Tiffany Morgan Junior Dickinson State (N.D.)

Keeley Van Blaricom Sophomore Great Falls (Mont.)