Dickinson State kicks off 2015 NAIA Softball World Series May 22 versus Oregon Tech

Dickinson State kicks off 2015 NAIA Softball World Series May 22 versus Oregon Tech


KANSAS CITY, Mo. - The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has announced the official seeds and bracket for the 2015 NAIA Softball World Series, presented by Security National Bank & Morningside College (Iowa). The 10-team, double-elimination event takes place from May 22 – 28 at the Elizabeth & Irving Jensen Softball Complex in Sioux City, Iowa. The City of Sioux City and Morningside College serve as official hosts for the first time in the 35-year history of the event.

Dickinson State (N.D.) (44-11 overall record), the tenth-seed team in the NAIA Softball World Series, kick off on May 22 at 10 a.m. (Central Time)/9 a.m. (Mountain Time) against seventh-seed Oregon Tech (44-14).  The winner of that game will move on to the winner's bracket versus No. 2 seed and defending NAIA Softball World Series champions Auburn Montgomery (Ala.) (42-8) on May 23 at 4 p.m. (CT)/3 p.m. (MT).  The loser of DiSU-OT will play in the loser's bracket on Saturday at 1 p.m. against No. 3 Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) (48-6)-No. 6 Mobile (Ala.) (37-12).

There will up to 19 games played during a seven-day span on one championship stadium field. There are four games on each of the first three days (May 24 is off day), three contests on May 26, two games on May 27 and the championship final on May 28.

First pitch of the 35th annual event is scheduled for 10 a.m. CDT on May 22 between No. 7 Oregon Tech (44-14) and No. 10 Dickinson State (N.D.) (44-11).

Four programs are back after a trip to the 2014 Softball World Series: No. 1 LSU Alexandria (La.), No. 2 Auburn Montgomery (Ala.), No. 3 Lindsey Wilson (Ky.) and No. 8 William Carey (Miss.). Auburn Montgomery returns as the defending national champion, winning its first-ever title in 2014 in its sixth year of varsity existence. The Warhawks are joined by Oregon Tech (2011) and Mobile (Ala.) (2006) as the other qualifiers who won a previous red banner.

The lone World Series rookie is No. 4 Campbellsville (Ky.). Out of the Mid-South Conference, the Tigers were champions in the USC Beaufort (S.C.) Opening Round Bracket.

Of all 2015 qualifiers, No. 6 Mobile owns the most all-time appearances with its 18th trip. The Rams, who won the St. Gregory's (Okla.) Opening Round Bracket by virtue of three victories on Tuesday, stand 50-34 in the postseason. Mobile is the only qualifier with more than seven previous appearances.

No. 9 Concordia (Ore.) and Dickinson State snap the longest World Series drought, with their last appearance back to 2010. This is Concordia's third all-time trip, while the Blue Hawks are playing in their fifth event.

LSU Alexandria currently owns the NAIA active winning streak with 41-straight victories. The last loss came on March 1 against Central Methodist (Mo.) – the Generals potentially could match up with No. 5-seed Central Methodist if both teams win their first World Series game. Lindsey Wilson is next in line with a 32-game winning streak.

Six conferences are represented in the 2015 World Series, led by three programs from the Southern States Athletic Conference – Auburn Montgomery, Mobile and William Carey.

One consistent team in the World Series that did not qualify this year was Oklahoma City. The Stars appeared in the past 23-straight events. The Stars tripped up in the Oklahoma City bracket against Concordia in the 'if necessary' game.

The qualifiers are comprised of 10 NAIA National Championship Opening Round champions, which were completed Wednesday. To see those champions, click here.

Stretch Internet, the NAIA's official video-streaming company of 17 select NAIA national championship events, will be broadcasting all 19 games of the 2015 NAIA Softball World Series. The All-World Series package can be purchased for $20. For more information, including how to register for an account, clickhere.

For more information on the 2015 NAIA Softball World Series, clickhere.

Chad Waller, NAIA Director of Communications & Sports Information