DSU Wrestling Team Places 2nd in North Region

DSU Wrestling Team Places 2nd in North Region

YORK, NE- The Dickinson State University Wrestling Team Placed 2nd in the North Region. With the 2nd place finish, eight Blue Hawk Wrestlers qualified for the 2015 NAIA National Tournament.

The Blue Hawks had a great showing at the 2015 North Region Tournament in York, NE. The Hawks had two champions and three runner-ups.

Junior Sean Elkins (28-6) placed 1st in the 157 lb. weight class and scored the Blue Hawks 22.5 team points. Elkins was honored as the tournaments Outstanding Wrestler. Elkins received a first round bye and took on Travis Kephart of Midland in the second round. Elkins won by a fall over at 5:55. In the quarterfinal's Elkins wrestled against Chrystian Banuelos of York College. In the second round he also won by a fall over at 0:34. In the semifinals he won by a tech fall over Dusty Paulsen of Dakota Wesleyan. The championship round matched him up with Kyle Gerlach (23-11) of Dakota Wesleyan. Elkins became the North Region Champion with a 13-3 major decision over Gerlach.

Junior Hudson Buck (23-1) also placed 1st in the 197 lb. weight class and scored 17 team points for the Blue Hawks. After having a 1st round bye he wrestled in the quarterfinal's against Briar Cliff's Jordan Watkins. Buck won by fall over at 4:10. In the semifinal round Buck won by a 5-4 decsion against Logan Paul Eickhoff of York College. The championship match slatted him up against Kolton Kersten of Midland College. Buck won the championship match with a 9-6 decision.

Junior Seth Ehlang (35-9) placed 2nd and scored 16 team points in the 149 lb. weight class. In the championship match Ehlang fell to Enrique Barajas of Concordia College by a 6-5 decision. Senior Tyler Brown (27-11) placed 2nd and scored 17.00 team points in the 174 lb. weight class. Brown lost to Kevin Corbett of Doane College in a sudden victory. Sophmore Jon Solano (28-7) placed 2nd and scored 14.00 team points in the 184 lb. weight class. Solano lost to Randy Null of Northwestern.

Deshun Hayes, Taylor Hodel, and Lane Oversen all received at-large bids to the national tournament in their weight classes.

For a complete list of Blue Hawk results click here.

The eight national qualifiers will now compete on March 6th at the 58th Annual NAIA National Championship in Topeka, KS.


Final team results

Place School Score
1 Concordia 165.0


Dickinson State 120.5
3 Midland 91.5
4 York College 85.5
5 Morningside 76.0
6 Briar Cliff 73.5
7 Northwestern 63.0
8 University of Jamestown 59.0
9 William Penn 47.0
10 Dakota Wesleyan 42.5
11 Hastings 41.0
12 Doane 40.0
13 Waldorf 35.5
14 Graceland 15.5