Four Blue Hawk Wrestlers Win Belt Buckle at Tyler Plummer Classsic

Four Blue Hawk Wrestlers Win Belt Buckle at Tyler Plummer Classsic

DICKINSON, ND- The Dickinson State University Wrestling team finished with four guys winning their weight class championship on Saturday at the Dickinson State Annual Tyler Plummer Classic.

Formerly known as the Dickinson Classic, this tournament is named after DSU alumni, Tyler Plummer, who was a big part of DSU wrestling as well as an assistant wrestling coach for the Blue Hawks. Tyler passed away on January 25th, 2012 from a heart condition. Plummer played a major roll in directing the Dickinson Classic, now named the Tyler Plummer Classic.

Championship awards were in the form of a belt buckle and were handed out by Tyler's family and former Blue Hawk Wrestling Coach, Thadd O'Donnell.

Seth Ehlang won the 149 pound championship after he defeated Casey Dobson of Great Falls, 3-1 and Taylor Hodel won the 165 pound championship after he defeated Michael Nord of Jamestown, 5-4.

Jonathan Solano won the 184 pound championship when he defeated Randy Keesler of Great Falls, 15-2 and Trevor Conrad won the heavy weight championship after he pinned Brandon Shelstad (Unattached).

Cody Johnson finished in second at 174 after he was defeated by Willie Miller of Montana-Northern in the championship match, 9-2.

Deshun Haynes finished fourth at 125, A.J. Locke finished fourth at 133 and Lane Oversen also finished fourth at 184.

Brice Gorsline finished sixth at 125, Jacob Berg finished sixth at 141, Pat Tangen finished sixth at 157 and Nick Dekalb also finished sixth at 174.


Complete Results

Dickinson Press Article