Blue Hawks win second straight NSAA Women's Cross Country Championships

Blue Hawks win second straight NSAA Women's Cross Country Championships


DICKINSON, N.D. - Dickinson State (N.D.) recorded a low score of 27 points to win the 2016 North Star Athletic Association Women's Cross Country Conference Championships Saturday at Heart River Golf Course, hosted by Dickinson State.  It was the second straight year that the Blue Hawks won the NSAA Women's Cross Country Conference Championship.

Jamestown (N.D.) earned second-place finish with 48 points, followed by Viterbo (Wis.) third with 55 points.  Dakota State (S.D.) finished fourth with 110 points, while Waldorf (Iowa) was fifth with 118 points.  Valley City State (N.D.) was sixth with 155 points.

Amanda Wolff of Dickinson State won the individual title with a time of 19 minutes, 48 seconds. 

Dickinson State earned the automatic team bid to the NAIA Women's Cross Country National Championship near St. Louis on Nov. 19.  Four NSAA individuals will be running at the NAIA national meet.  They are Amber Posner, Allison Foster and Christa Lysne of Jamestown as well as Rachel Turi of Viterbo.

NSAA Women's Cross Country All-Conference
1) Amanda Wolff - Dickinson State (N.D.)
2) Cristina Herrera - Dickinson State (N.D.)
3) Amber Posner - Jamestown (N.D.)
4) Allison Foster - Jamestown (N.D.)
5) Brittney Grove - Dickinson State (N.D.)
6) Christa Lysne - Jamestown (N.D.)
7) Rachel Turi - Viterbo (Wis.)
8) Ashly Kraenzel - Dickinson State (N.D.)
9) Haley Swanson - Viterbo (Wis.)
10) Karen Mayfield - Dakota State (S.D.)
Coach of the Year:  Ben Shroyer - Dickinson State (N.D.)

Nick Huntimer, North Star Athletic Association Sports Information Director